The ASCN is a collaborative platform where cities from the ASEAN Member States (AMS) work towards the common goal of smart and sustainable urban development. The 26 ASCN Pilot Cities are: Bandar Seri Begawan, Battambang, Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, Makassar, Banyuwangi, DKI Jakarta, Luang Prabang, Vientiane, Johor Bahru, Kuala Lumpur, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching, Nay Pyi Taw, Mandalay, Yangon, Cebu City, Davao City, Manila, Singapore, Bangkok, Chonburi, Phuket, Da Nang, Hanoi, and Ho Chi Minh City.

In the light of the opportunities and challenges posed by rapid urbanisation and digitalisation, the primary goal of the ASCN is to improve the lives of ASEAN citizens, using technology as an enabler. By focusing on people, it adopts an inclusive approach to smart city development that is respectful of human rights and fundamental freedoms as inscribed in the ASEAN Charter. The networking of Smart Cities across ASEAN also contributes to enhancing mutual understanding across cultures.

The ASCN aims to facilitate cooperation on smart cities development, catalyse bankable projects with the private sector, and secure funding and support from ASEAN’s external partners. To this end, 33 partnerships have been established thus far.

The first ASCN Governance Workshop was held from 22 to 25 May 2018 in Singapore, and was attended by delegates from the AMS, including the ASCN National Representatives (NRs), Chief Smart City Officers (CSCOs), and accompanying officials, the ASEAN Secretariat, as well as various government and private-sector agencies from ASEAN’s external partners. The Workshop provided a venue for the ASCN members to draft their Smart City Action Plans (SCAPs) with guidance from experts, discuss the ASEAN Smart Cities Framework (ASCF), and network with external partners.

According to